We’ll Carry On:

What do you do during illness? I usually lay in bed groaning and rolling over in pain. A lot of the times I over exaggerate, but I get the point across at least. I’m pathetic when I’m sick.

I bring this up because, see, my grandmother just got out of the hospital with leukemia. And she was a trooper through every bit of it. Even when she lay in her hospital bed, completely still but still full of pain, but still composing herself and not letting it show. I don’t know how she does it. Even know, as I come back home from  dinner with her, she sat in a wheelchair and talked and went on as if nothing has happened. We all know that’s false and that she really has gone through a lot in the past few months, thought she is trooping on through just like a real soldier. God’s done some weird changes in my family because of this event. My mother has been so supportive of grandma. When she was in the hospital my mom would visit her quite a few times every week. I’m amazed at the strength God has given each and every one of us through this hard time. Especially my grandma. I don’t know if anyone else in my family could have done what she’s done. And she’s the one who has cancer.

My grandma has been a nurse for as long as I can remember. It was always felt a bit ironic that a nurse in the family was the one to get this sick. You always assume that people in the medical field never get sick but they probably get sick more than everyone else. I don’t know if I’d be able to do it. I would have become angry at all the doctors during therapy. Grandma suffered a stroke and her right side became paralyzed. It took her a month before she could move her right hand. It took even longer, even with therapy, to get her up and walking. She’s on a long road to recovery and it will never end. The cancer will follow her until the end of her life. It’s no laughing matter. I doubt I’d be as strong as this woman. I complain when I get a paper cut. She gets cancer and keeps pushing through without a complain.

The man is the head of woman, as Christ is head of the church, but the woman is the one who can teach quite the lessons when the time comes. Everyone in my life has made a great impact and influence, but right now, my grandmother is making a big one.

Leave a Reply

